Tuesday, July 24, 2007

My weight has more or less stablized between 175 and 178, with about a 0.5 lb weight loss per week. I am at either a plateau or I am not being as diligent about writing down what I eat. I am going to maintain this 0.5 lbs per week weight loss for awhile and see where I really bottom out. I suspect around 170 or so.

Running yesterday was mistake, and my surgically repaired knee is on fire. Fortunately, jerking and swinging do not bother my knee. As long as I can walk and lift pain free, which I can, there is no need to go see sawbones again.

All in all, today was a good lifting day. Tomorrow, I am going to do a 6:00 snatch set at 14 rpm and then some sort of medley for time with the 16kg for a little variety.

Tuesday, July 24

Warmup and basic mobility movements.

1. 16kg jerk set – 5:00. (5,6,5,6,6). 28 total. PR for reps.

2. 24kg one arm jerk sets – 5/5, 10/10.

3. 24 kg swing set – 30/30.

I really like the high repetition swing set for a finisher and will make that a mainstay of my training. At about rep 22-25, my forearms are on fire. Although I am very careful with watching my technique on each rep, reps 26-30 are just gutting it through. In a few months, reps 40-50 will be the just gutting it through.

Happy Lifting!

3 Responses to “Tuesday, July 24, 2007”

  1. ericc1 Says:

    Great job on the pr Charlie!

    Eric

  2. Tom Healy Says:

    Charley,

    Only runners run. Unless you like it or it dosen’t hurt your knees. I have a bum right knee that screams if I run for more than 10 minutes.

  3. callen Says:

    Eric, thanks for stopping by.

    Tom – I used to be a runner, and my wife still is. This was an attempt to spend some time together. Knee disagreed.

Leave a Reply

