On the road to recovery

Time to start training again.

I had my knee scoped on Thursday to remove some loose “bodies” that were floating around in my knee that detached from my meniscus. Looking at the pictures, it looks like there was some damage to the meniscus both on the lateral side and anterior side.

Thursday night and Friday were rough. The initially prescribed pain killer did not work, but the second one did. I spent Saturday aggressively attacking the swelling with ice and use of the CPM machine, and I am sitting here early Sunday morning not having used painkillers for 30 over hours with a knee that is only slightly sore.

I can get up the stairs without a problem, and down the stairs with minimal issues. The swelling is minimal.

I will find out the longer term prognosis on Wednesday, but to be able to walk without the knee buckling (and pain free) and to be able to exercise at a high level is important to me. I can do the former now, and am confident that I will be able to do the latter in due course.

Leave a Reply

