What in the Wide, Wide World of Sports is Going On Here?

Wow.

Quite a debate going on over at Irongarm. I am not sure what all of this means, and I have only read parts of it, but I think this is the Mother of All Battles on the AKC versus RKC.

I am in month 6 of an (interrupted due to surgery) 18 month experiment with timed set lifting to see what this is all about.  Tune in at the end of October 2008 for my conclusions as they apply to me. So far, so good – this seems to be working well for me. It is slow going, and mentally draining at times, but I feel good, have thinned out a bit, my joints are feeling good, and it doesn’t take a lot of time when simply lifting for fitness as I am.

Why all the passion about kettlebells? They’re just steel or scrap iron with handles – pick up the damn things up and lift. Is there one true way to lift? No. Does one need to be an ass on the internet? Well, I guess it can be fun but no.

I have thoroughly enjoyed my two years lifting kettlebells and have never met anyone in person who lifts kettlebells that is an ass. Lots of nice people in the kettlebell community, no matter how one chooses to use the tool and no matter their affiliation. Does it have to be mutually exclusive?

Leave a Reply

