Recent training learnings, a milestone of sorts, and future product reviews

The definition of insanity is to try the same thing over and over with the same results. What I have been trying for months is to work with the 16kgs in long jerk and snatch sets, which is a nice weight for me, but with slow progress.

After resisting for months, I have decided that I need to spend some time with the 12kgs in the jerk and snatch. Yesterday’s efforts yielded a 10:00 snatch set at 12 rpm and today’s efforts yielded a 10:00 jerk set at 4 rpm. I will work with the 16kg for one arm jerks and the 16kg for a 6:00 snatch set a couple of times per week.  Intuitively, some time with the 12kg will help me with technique and help me with endurance.

The testosterone side of me says to hell with the 12kg – let them collect dust – but the rational side of me reminds me that two years ago, I was an overfat desk jockey and don’t need to apologize or rationalize a stint with the 12kg.  Plus, I understand that the Eastern Europeans spend a lot of time at lighter weights before moving up in 2-4kg increments.

The milestone of sorts – beyond 10:00 sets – is that I ran today for the first time since July 26, 2007, when I definitively injured my knee shortly after a run. I did wind sprints today after a warm up – 6×30 seconds at 80% throttle with a 90 second recovery. The verdict – no pain, no swelling, and a sense of accomplishment.  I plan to incorporate wind sprints into my routine 2x – 3x a week.

I’ve sold some painted kettlebells recently, and I’ve purchased a few things with the proceeds that I will review here before year end. In coming weeks, look for reviews on:

Steve Cotter’s Encylopedia of Body-weight Conditioning

Steve Cotter’s Extreme Kettlebell Workout

Scott Sonnon’s Flowfit (hint – it’s free and kicks ass)

A side x side comparison of 16kg kettlebells by AKC, Dragon Door, Ader, and Kettlestack (my first kettlebell).

Leave a Reply

