Product Review – FlowFit

Flowfit is an interesting product offered by Scott Sonnon’s RMAX International I recently introduced into my training. Apparently based on a series of movements derived from Prasara Yoga, I find it powerfully effective in my training and share a few thoughts.

The DVD itself is short and well produced. It is divided into an introductory lecture by Scott, demonstrations of seven exercises showing progressions of difficulty, and a series of four “flows” tying these exercises together. Scott’s explanation is concise, well considered, and easy to follow. The exercises address movement in six planes, which you can study further at this link. The flows themselves are a wonder to behold.

Some fellow coaches at the American Kettlebell Club recommended Flowfit to me. After practicing Flow2 and more recently Flow3 almost daily either as a warm up or a standalone training session, I can’t encourage you enough to invest in the DVD and try it. The exercises are easy to pick up from the DVD, and I very quickly noticed physical and mental benefits from almost daily practice. Scott’s demonstation of the exercises and flows appears effortless, but the best judge of effort is your own actual practice. It’s not as easy as it looks, and practice of the flows requires effort and concentration.

From dedicated practice, I have discovered, not surprisingly, that I move easier, I am more mobile, and my joints feel better. The mental benefits have been surprising and are harder to explain. Suffice it to say, I feel calmer, more focused, and more at peace with the world around me.

I have used the program daily as a morning wake up, warm up session, or stand alone training session. Fifteen to 20 minutes is all it takes. Scott tells you that 14-18 minutes, three times a week is all it takes to derive benefits from the program, but once you start practicing, you may find like me that you want to do more. Although the material is presented in “flows”, I don’t see why the exercises could not be mixed and match to create hundreds of possible flows. For the business traveller, it has powerful possibilities as well.

I have interacted with Scott online, and based on my interaction, he is extremely knowledgeable and kind.  The Office of Common Sense(TM) recommends Flowfit as an excellent option for mobility practice and bodyweight exercise. You can order from Scott’s company directly or from amazon.com and other vendors.

4 Responses to “Product Review – FlowFit”

  1. doug sides Says:

    Charley, I have been considering this program lately. Did you truely find it a value to yourself? did it free up the joints and the movement of the body? Please let me know as I just tore a rotator during RKC prep (presses) and am seriously p.o.ed about it.
    Hope all is well buddy.
    Doug

  2. kettlebell exercises Says:

    kettlebell exercises…

    […]Product Review – FlowFit « The Office of Common Sense (OCS tm)[…]…

  3. Scotsman Ice Machine Says:

    Scotsman Ice Machine…

    […]Product Review – FlowFit « The Office of Common Sense (OCS tm)[…]…

  4. kettlebell workouts for beginners Says:

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you’ve done a awesome job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads very fast for me on Safari.
    Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

