Some observations from training consistently and eating clean

According to the manual training log I keep in a fancy, leather bound journal, I’ve trained  5, 6 and 5 days the past three weeks.  None of these sessions last longer than 30 minutes, and I haven’t done more than 2 or 3 work sets per session, except for a circuit style class I attended at the Kettlebell Club in League City that I took a day to recover from.

I am in week 4 of this routine, and it agrees with me.  I sleep better at night, I wake up naturally at the same time every morning (before 5 AM), and I feel refreshed after a good night’s sleep.

I’ve also been eating particularly cleanly the last three weeks as well.  No bread except for Ezekiel bread every now and then, no milk, no refined carbohydrates, no starches, a daily dose or two of berries, bacon and eggs for breakfast, and non-starchy vegetables and meat or fish the rest of the time. I snack on nuts or almond butter.

No wonder I’ve lost 4 lbs on an absolute basis and 3.5 lbs on a normalized, trend basis (I’ll explain this trend concept another time).

Some observations:

1. I’ve lost some belly fat, and my 34″ waistline pants are getting loose.

2. I recover much quicker from exercise – between sets and between days.

3. I am much more alert, productive, focused, and clear headed.

4. My knee doesn’t hurt.

5. There have been some more intangible mental benefits and I have a sense of well being I haven’t had in a long time.

Your mileage might vary from training 5-6 days a week and eating clean, and 3 weeks is too short of a time to make definitive conclusions. However, I am not at all displeased with my results.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

