What I’m Doing

There are so many shiny objects out there as far as programs go. When you’re ADD like me, it is tempting to try them all without really sticking to anything and accomplishing steady progress. A review of my prior logs yielded the following insights:

1. Four days a week with the bells is optimal. That gives me three lower or no intensity days.
2. Joint mobility seven days a week is optimal.
3. A simple program of double jerks, snatches, swings, and pullups has yielded good results for me.
4. Consistent practice of some sort of dynamic movement routine on low intensity days has yielded good results for me. I’ve used FlowFit for this sort of thing in the past.

Basic Program
I’ve kept it pretty simple. Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays are lower intensity days for joint mobility and some sort of more dynamic mobility like yoga or FlowFit. On Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday, I do a set of jerks, another set of jerks with the same repetitions in half the time, a set of snatches, and a set of swings. The jerks and snatches are with the 20kg, and the swings are either with the 28kg or 32kg.

Intuflow Intermediate
After spending yesterday painting my son’s nursery, I needed to really up the joint mobility for today. I’ve been doing the basic class for a few months, and decided it is time to switch over to the intermediate class. I’ve been doing Scott Sonnon’s Intuflow for a few months and am pleased with the results I’ve achieved. The intermediate class has more challenging movement patterns, and I expect to be practicing it for 6 months to maybe a year before moving on.

2 Responses to “What I’m Doing”

  1. Johan Roelofse Says:

    Hi there.
    Great to see another blogger following a training schedule similar to mine. I break down my training into no, low, moderate and high intensity days. Like you I use Intuflow and dynamic mobility sequences on the lighter days and some classic kettlebell lifts on the higher intensity days. I’m looking forward to reading more about your training journey.
    Regards
    Johan

  2. callen Says:

    Thanks, Johan. The hardest part for me is resisting the temptation to hit the bells on lower intensity days. My goal is to train for sport, but I need to dedicate myself to a regular program first for a long period of time before I satisfy those aspirations.

Leave a Reply

