The best laid plans of men…

Sometimes my posting shows how absent minded I am. Take last Monday with a nice template I laid out. Should have run that by the Office of Common Sense.

My wife is at T minus not much longer for delivering what should turn out to be a big, healthy boy. Sleep is going to be hard to come by, there is so much to do before the boy arrives, and false labor/trips to the doctor take up time. Plus I work.

I need to really, really simplify my training and plan on the fly. Not ideal, but at the same time, necessary. Fundamentally, I need to do a pull and a push, I need to do it consistently and with rest, and I need to make sure I am accomplishing something until I can train regularly.

Jerks and snatches AKC style for time, Swings and Getups RKC program minimum style, or one arm jerks and swings (courtesy of Scott Sonnon seem to be viable at this point in my life. Getups don’t agree with my knee, so that leaves jerks/snatches or one arm jerks/swings out of the list above. For those of you RKCs reading, the leading clause of the previous sentence does not mean I don’t endorse the program minimum. I’ve done it before, it’s a fine program, but it doesn’t work for my knee.

Coupled with joint mobility and some sort of dynamic mobility, I think I have a plan with jerks/one arm jerks and swings/snatches. Stay tuned to see how a new father trains in the next few weeks.

2 Responses to “The best laid plans of men…”

  1. Howie Says:

    Good luck Daddy-O!!

    I can only imagine what these workouts could feel like when you’re sleep is limited. Yuck!

  2. callen Says:

    yeah howie, i think it will be challenging.

Leave a Reply

